Some people believe that the best way to build a happier society is to ensure that

there are only small differences between the richest and the poorest members. To

what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to make citizens happier, governments have been seeking the best way. Although by narrowing the financial gap can improve people’s happy index, I would argue that just doing so is not enough.

It is true that residents’ happiness can be improved by bridging the gap between the rich and the poor. This is because the majority of the rich are employers whereas most the poor are their employees, meaning that there certainly be a hierarchy in this sense. It’s highly likely that those who are in high social status would behave in a condescending way to those inferior to them, which would lead to some severe mental illness such as depression.

However, there are some other measures can be taken to address this issue. Firstly, government can invest in some public facilities such as healthcare, hospital and education. This can definitely improve people’s quality of living, consequently bring them great happiness. What’s more, reducing the heavy tax on employees’ income can make a big different. Since we live in a world where the workplace is increasingly competitive, people have to work extremely hard to earn a decent salary in order to cover their living cost. If taxes on salaries lowered, people would have more disposable income for them to spend on leisure activities such as traveling abroad, meaning that they have more options to unwind and recharge their batteries.

In conclusion, to conduct a high happiness index society, measures can be taken by the government through narrowing the economic gap, making investment in public infrastructure and decrease the income tax.