Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit, but others think there are better ways to improve the safety on city streets.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

The number of serious accidents is growing because more and more people are driving cars on city streets. Some think the solution lies in lowering speed limits, but others think that improving public transportation will have a more powerful effect as it will take cars off the road completely. I believe both solutions are valid. This essay will consider the different viewpoints before deciding what is the best solution.

There are some that see speeding as the main reason why people are involved in motor vehicle accidents and think that driving slower can solve the problem. Indeed, if people drove slower throughout the city, the risk and frequency of accidents would decrease because the faster a car travels, the more damage it can do to whatever it hits. Many cities around the world, like Paris, France, have significantly lowered their speed limits over the last decade and it seems that fewer serious incidents have been reported.

However, some think that streets would be safer with fewer cars on the road and so the solution lies in improving public transportation. Faster and more efficient subway and bus systems along with reliable high-speed train service in and out of a city will make it easier for commuters to choose an alternative to driving. Cities, like Seoul Korea, that have focused on building public transport that is reliable, fast and safe are examples of how this approach can reduce the number of traffic accidents while keeping people moving.

My opinion is a balance of the two. Cities that have been developed with great public transport systems have fewer car problems on the road and if they also have lower speed limits, they are an ideal place to visit or work in. Brussels, Belgium is an example of this as it has fast and reliable tram, bus and metro systems and it also ensures that drivers maintain slower speeds by installing speed bumps, traffic circles and frequent speed monitoring devices so there are far fewer reports of serious accidents.

City streets need to be safer for everyone and speeding is definitely a problem but with improved public transit, there will be fewer cars to worry about. If cities make drivers slow down and also maintain an efficient rail and bus system, the issue of safe roads will be reduced, and we can all feel safe getting around.