In some countries an increasing number of people suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are some states which faced their citizens has health issues due to excessive junk food consumption and to reduce that, some people agree the government should enforce higher tax for junk food provider. In my opinion, by imposing higher tax on junk food industry will hinder only middle and lower icome society.

Currently, due to busiest life people have tight schedule which lead them to eat junk food which can be ready in a short time although they realize that such food has bad impact for their life if they continue comsume fast food excessively. In Indonesia, based on Health Ministry survey, one of the biggest  causing obesity is junk food consumption. This is because junk food contains chemical ingredients such as monosodiun glutamat to maintain its taste during stroraged which has bad impact for healthy.

In other hand, by imposing a higher tax will only make junk food unaffordable to poor people thus they will cook proper meals at home that actually good for their health. However, the taxes will not affect affluent from buying junk food and remain continue to consume it. That means tax increasing on junk food will only has effect for some comunities. Some people still eat junk food because its avaiable in every supermarket while healthy food alterbatibes are not conveniently available. Perhaps a better solution is to make healthy food affordable and accessible which are avaible in supermarket.

In conlusion, incleaning the tax on junk food will only hinder low income group from consume them. If the government attract to reduce the consumption of fast food, provide healthy food alternatives more affordable and accrssible is the best solution.