It is a highly controversial issue that whether kids should spend their spare time on playing whatever they want or taking education activities. I hold a firm conviction that depends on children’s interests and abilities, parents should encourage them to reach a balance between educational and non-educational activities in leisure time.

On the one hand, there are those who maintain that applying educational activities for offspring can bring many benefits for their academic performance as well as career prospects as a whole. First of all, in order to foster mental capabilities of kids, parents have a tendency to stimulate them to play educational games. To illustrate, some parents allow preschool children play puzzle words or game with numbers, which leads to the academic performances of their kids are more outstanding than other students. Secondly, in term of career paths, parents believe that children can broaden their horizons through games have academic features, so they will become more competitive in the job market. Owing to fierce competitions in the workforce, besides learning at schools, If children develop playing academic games habits to gain profound knowledge, they may become highly-qualified labourers in the future.

On the other hand, some parents claim that children have obligations to do any activities that they like in their leisure time. Firstly, in terms of health, offspring should balance between learning time and playing time. Indeed, most students spend about 8 to 10 hours on learning, which can lead to stress or depression if their parents deny children the freedom to play outdoor games or enjoy extra-curricular activities. An additional reason is that childhood is a time that children create valuable memories with their friends and families. According to recent researches, once kids who are not set priority on education by their parents and likely to attend non-educational activities in their spare time, they usually have a positive outlook on life and can be easy to gain success in the future.

In conclusion, leisure time play an integral part in the development of children, hence, parents should stimulate not only educational activities but also non-academic ones so as to foster mental and physical development of kids.