Some people believe that companies should be allowed to collect data about customers freely, while others believe this practice should be restricted. Discuss both sides of this issue.

These days companies collect vast amounts of information about consumers, which has some favorable and unfavorable consequences. While allowing companies to collect customer data can help them create products that meet consumer demands, regulating this practice may be necessary because customer information is often stolen and/or used dishonestly.

Even the most successful companies rarely produce a great product on their first try. Instead, they submit their first attempts to rigorous testing so they can improve what they’ve created over time. Collecting data about current and potential customers is an essential component of this process. Companies need to learn as much as possible about what customers like and don’t like, where they live, how old they are, and what they do with their purchase. The internet makes assembling these data easy and efficient, and smart companies take advantage of it. Since this process often leads to useful and enjoyable innovations, it seems reasonable that companies should be allowed to collect the data they need to improve their products.

Unfortunately, customer data collection does not always lead to such positive outcomes. There are many examples in the news of financial institutions and large stores whose consumer data has been stolen and used for negative purposes. Companies that collect personal information and credit card numbers are particularly vulnerable to attack because this information can be used by criminals in a wide variety of ways. Furthermore, some companies sell their consumer data to third parties, such as insurance and medical providers, without disclosing this practice to consumers. Even if not technically illegal, this situation suggests that data collection should be restricted in some ways.

Until regulations are put in place, we should all assume that everything we do online is public information and that companies will use it to enhance their profits. Some of these uses will be for good, while others should be regulated.