Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree?

I personally somewhat disagree with the idea that competitive sports have no place in the school curriculum.

Because there is a fact that competitive sports can improve some skills such as motor skills and social skills. These sports have not only physical benefits but also emotional and personal benefits. For example, self-confidence, sportsmanship, better vision, a healthy weight. Thus, I think competitive sports are very important for children’s development.

Team sports can help kids learn important life lessons about teamwork and fair play. Team sports can improve better friendships, and help them to socialise. Likewise, individual competitive sports allows for independence and can be a great fit for a kid who does not like to rely on someone else's skills to perform well.

Nevertheless, I somewhat can understand the point of view that supports the idea of competitive sport should not be in the school curriculum. The reason might be that competitive sports require a lot of training, practise and dedication. So if there are not plenty of equipments, and the possibility to train kids dedicated practising then I assume that there will not be any obvious results in a good way that we can show as a proof. If so, kids can play competitive sports outside school hours. Moreover, these sports have a bit of disadvantage such as building pressure due to win, risk of injuries and developing poor attitude. Even so, I have a belief that competitive sports should be at least in the elementary and middle schools in order to improve kid's skills at a young age.

In conclusion, competitive sports have so many benefits on kids, so they have an important place in the school curriculum although they have some disadvantages.