Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree?

Sport activities play an integral part of student's lives. Some individuals believe that competitive sports should not be included in educational programs, while others insist that it is crucial for individual development. This essay will consider both sides and show that advantages outweigh disadvantages.

There are understandable reasons why doing physical activities, either team or individual, is an essential part of the learning process for all students. First and foremost, doing sports is the best way of exercising because it helps children keep fit and promotes good health. It is undeniable that exercising can make the heart healthier and burn the excess energy of the body. For example, children playing sports every day have fewer opportunities to have a heart attack and avoid obesity. Moreover, thanks to sports, students can relax after long hours in lessons and therefore, their mental health is maintained and their productivity in school will also be enhanced.

On the contrary, it is argued by some that competitive sports may probably lead to distraction in studying and affect the physiology. These days, stress-related illnesses are extremely common in sports, and there are many competitive stressors that sport players have to cope with. For example, in school students may encounter stress because of the pressure to win and may lead to abandonment or isolation from peers. Another concern relates to learning being distracted by the use of much time on competitive physical activities such as basketball or football. This can make students have less time to concentrate on academic subjects, which results in a decline of academic performance. However, if time management skills are taught in school curriculum, there will hardly be negative impacts on children's studies.

In conclusion, although competitive sports have some adverse impacts on students, I believe that it should not be removed from school curriculum with its undeniable benefits. To my mind, the vital key to a successful life in the future is to maintain a balance between studying and playing sports.