some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that physical activities such as football or tennis, which have a high-competitive characteristic, could hamper the process of studying at school. Although it could be distracting and causing hatred between students, I am of the opinion that competitions would incentivise students to be better.

On the one hand, due to the competition, students might hold some grudge against each other, which would probably affect their study ability. Because of the aggressive characteristics of competitive sports, competitors tend to be in high tense during the match and this could lead to some misdemeanours. For example, in a football match there could be a lot of fouls between players with players, most of the time it would settle down calmly be the judge, unfortunately sometime thing goes wrong and a clash between two people or more people. Consequently, this kind of manner is deemed as unappropriated on campus, which explains why competitive sports is not highly considered. However, this problem could easily be solved if students are taught about sportsmanship and supervised by their teachers.

On the other hand, when having such competitive games in the school curriculum students tend to try harder to overcome not just the opponent but also themselves in comparison with non-competitive sports. This would be a great opportunity for them to improve themselves. Additionally, winning the game might give them confidence. For instance, to surpass a rival in a basketball game, they should train harder and push themselves to the limit to champion the game. Inevitably, this could boost students both mental and physical health.

In conclusion, if there are competitions in sports in the school curriculum it could have some setbacks like fighting or bad behaviours, I believe that with the right guide of teacher, attending competitive sports could give students chances to enhance manner, mental and physical health.