Travelers and business people often come into contact with other cultures briefly. What are the main advantages and disadvantages of doing so?

It is true that businessman or woman and travelers, in general, has the privilege of experiencing various culture around the world. However, because of the nature of the business people could not stay at a new environment for a long period. Although, this phenomenon have many merits, I believe it also has certain disadvantages, which will be discussed in this essay.

First and foremost, traveling broaden people mind. By exposing to different culture, people could see the different and reflect the homeland culture to another, and thus valuing their own as well as other traditional even more. Although travelers only stay in a new country for a short period, this is also a great opportunity for them to learn any other new language since they could have natural conversation with the native. In addition, for business people, briefly contact with people with different nationalities might provide some insight, which will be good for the business. Furthermore, a bigger employment market is available to them. Google, an International Company, for instance, this is exactly what they need in order to adapt with the globalization trend.

In contrast, overgeneralization is one of the major problem of this trend. Shortly contact with other culture could beget superficial understanding. Normally, this is not a negative thing, however, with certain bad experiences or misunderstanding during the stay it could affect humans thinking, which might lead to conflict between people. Furthermore, another detrimental effect of this phenomenon is that it might spread new and unwanted diseases that is carried by the travelers. So convenience it is for humans to travel from one place to another that a benefactor is the infectious diseases. A great example of it is the covid-19 pandemic that the world are now facing with.

In conclusion, traveling is obviously could have certain benefit, however it could cause several drawbacks which is spreading disease or creating stereotype.