Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solution can you suggest to solve the problems?

In recent years, many developed cities such as Shang Hai or New York are beset by a common problem: traffic congestion. This phenomenon might lead to various detrimental effects, and thus certain approaches with the aim to combat it are urgently required.

Firstly, public transportation as well as bicycle are the two greatest measures to alleviate the situation. If there are incentives from the authorities which enhance the quality of public transport like buses or implement the public transport system, the volume of traffic would be reduced. Since urban citizens might feel it is more convenient to use these kind of transport rather than using private vehicle. Likewise, encouragement in using bicycle is also a useful method, which has been applied in many developed countries such as France. Providing rental bicycles with low cost on most streets, this would help regain the space taken by cars when it only carries one or two person.

Another solution is that the government should implements certain taxes on vehicles traveling into and parking in city centers. This money then could be used for the reinvestment in the cities’ infrastructure. As the result, the roads are wider and safer, leading to less traffic accidents, one of the major contributor in traffic jams. In addition, there would also be more parking building for those would still need to use private vehicle. Thus, the street become more spacious. Whilst, this could upset and discourage the car owners, it is an effective way to reduce the use of private cars.

In conclusion, with the incentives from the government and the discouragement of using private vehicles, the goal of solving these problems is achievable.