Some people believe that corporal punishment will spoil the children. While others believe that, it is the best method of teaching discipline to children. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The question of whether a corporal penalty is a useful method of teaching children has become a controversial subject amongst the public. Some people think that it is the most effective way to educate teens while others suppose that it has negative impacts on children’s development. In my opinion, I disagree with the use of physical pain.

On the one hand, I can understand why someone is in favour of physical punishment. Firstly, compared to alternative methods such as suspension, expulsion and community services, corporal punishment has direct effects. For example, a student may stop talking or disrupting a class for a while if his teacher spanks him, and then the teacher could go back to teaching without taking too much time managing a student’s behaviour. Secondly, physical pain is considered as a strong deterrent for the person who receives corporal punishment and for those who witness it. As a result, they would feel deterred from engaging in certain activities that attract physical punishment.

On the other hand, I believe that corporal punishment is not a good idea due to adverse effects on children’s cognition it causes. Obviously, students who are anxious about being physically punished are inhibited from exploring their physical and social world which play a vital role in their cognitive development. Consequently, these students could be less likely to extend their cognitive skills. Moreover, it will be counterproductive if parents use physical pain as a method of teaching their kids. As if parents try to modify children’s bad behaviours through inflicting pain, then these children are likely to do the same to others when they want to influence ion other’s actions.

In conclusion, many people put forward the use of a physical method of education. However, I think that we take actions against this method because of unpredictable consequences.