The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In recent years, the ever-increasing number of serious accidents have gradually been a subject of controversial concern. The question is how to alleviate the situation. Although some people think that the sole stricter punishments are the most tool for rising road safety, I argue that enhancing traffic safety is undertaken by many alternative measures not only imposing more punishments.

On the one hand, imposing harsh penalties on drivers who commit traffic laws can make significant contributions to improve the safety of traffic. For example, organizations in power can implement a wide variety of non-custodial sentences such as financial punishments and the confiscation of driving licenses on offenders. By doing this, a number of drivers with limited incomes would adhere to traffic rules because of the huge pressure of finance, which can minimize unpredictable and serious accidents. It is likely that the high level of punishments is one of the effective ways to develop traffic safety.

On the other hand, although heavy fines can be a great way to deter many motorists from driving dangerously and carelessly, sometimes the method can no bring desire effects. Therefore, the government and citizens should cooperate to find the best solution. Firstly, the authorities should invest more money and other resources in innovating the quality of traffic infrastructure and reduce the number of poor-quality vehicles, which can diminish a range of serious accidents caused by the huge number of transportations moving in the high level of density on the roads. Secondly, the development of commuter’s awareness should be high on the government agenda. As a result, reckless people driving while intoxicated would fall considerably and they would no longer pose a danger to other road-users.

In conclusion, although imposing stricter punishments on people committing traffic offences is a great way to develop road safety, the most effective method is the combination of various ways such as improving the quality of traffic road and human awareness.