Some people believe that corporal punishment will spoil the children while others believe that it is the best method of teaching discipline to children. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about the effectiveness of physical punishment. While it is widely perceived that it is the best parenting method to regulate children’s behaviors, others are of the opinion that corporal punishment would do more harm than good. Personally, I fully support the latter position.

There are numerous reasons why parents see penalties such as blows or slaps as efficient way to educate their offspring, one of which is the achievement of children’s immediate compliance. It is true that being scared of smacking, children would try to avoid misbehaving when they are staying with those punishing them. Another justification is corporal punishment might act as a deterrent for the prospective misconducts among children, warning them of potential consequences if they attempt to breach schools’ or parents’ code of conduct. There is no denying that children, especially those in their puberty, are often temporary sociopaths, and they find it unnecessary to listen to or follow the grownups’ explanation and guidance. For this reason, physical punishment could turn their impulsive, thoughtless behaviors into more controlled, purposeful ones.

The shortcomings of corporal punishment, however, are indisputable. First and foremost, parents often hit their offspring to relieve frustration when they find their kids’ behaviors exasperating. The fundamental goal of their act is to correct children’s misconducts, but it may leave irreparable physical pain on them if an unbridled use of smacking or slapping is applied. Parents, when being in anger, barely notice the severity of their acts, which could in turn subject their children to trauma. It should also be noted that long-lasting mental disorders may arise as the kids are occasionally exposed to physical punishment. It is possible that turbulent upbringing would provoke children’s resentment and self-isolation, thereby wrecking their self-esteem. They may also regard violence and force as a way of showcasing power over other people and gradually lose their empathy with others’ suffering. Corporal punishment would therefore prove to be counterproductive when it comes to kids’ nurturing.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that physical punishment is not an optimal disciplinary method to educate children. My own view is verb explanation would be more efficient in helping children distinguish the boundaries between acceptable and unacceptable manners.