Some people say that government should spend more money taking care of elderly people while others think that government spending should be spent more on the education of young people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about how government should use their national budget. While there are those who maintain that money should be channeled to take care of the aged population, others are of the opinion that the state should invest in education of young generation. Both positions have their own merits and deserve thorough scrutiny.

There are numerous reasons why public money should be allocated to healthcare for the senior citizens, one of which is the increased longevity and improved well-being of the elderly. This means that when older people are able to access to better medical care, they would have better physical and mental health, which would in turn reduce the government subsidy in treatment and caregiving. It should also be noted that older people often have much spare time, so they can not only help look after their grandchildren but can also participate in voluntary work to support the community. For these reasons, it is justifiable that they deserve government expenditure.

The sponsorship for youngsters’ education, however, should be not overlooked. It is true that out of many other sectors, education is a top priority, and it serves as a sound foundation for people to become productive members of the society. In fact, an informed individual would hardly meet difficulties finding an employment and maintaining a regular income, the major contributing factors to national economic growth. What is more, education plays a pivotal role in regulating the youth’s behavior, potentially turning them into an educated with a high moral standing. In other words, the juveniles might be more responsible for their acts and be less likely to engage in criminal activities. Accordingly, the federal investment in education sector for young people is a long-term development strategy.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that equal importance should be placed on medical care for the oldies and education for adolescents. This would therefore bring the most promising results for the progression of a nation.