Researches into new types of medicine and treatments are essential to improve health and deal with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches: private companies, individuals or the government?

In today’s world, medical research plays a significant role in improving physical health and treatment of maladies. From my perspective, it should be financed by both government agencies and non-governmental bodies such as private corporations and individual people.

First of all, there are a multitude of reasons why researches into new types of medication and therapies should be subsidized by the state. One possible reason is that the state needs to be responsible for the well-being of citizens as most of the national budget derives from taxes. The taxpayers accordingly have the right to enjoy an advanced, effective healthcare system. Another justification is that a decent physical health is highly associated with a productive working life. For this reason, government should invest in researching and developing new drugs and treatments to increase the residents’ longevity and productivity. In doing so, the authorities can substantially reduce amount of money channeled into medical services and witness economic returns of government backing.

Medical research should however be funded by wealthy individuals and private enterprises as well. There is no denying that if a health research is supported by the government only, it will put much pressure on the state budget. This could be attributed to the fact that authorities need to allocate tax money not only to medical care but also to other key sectors such as education and transportation. Without appropriate financial distribution, the living conditions of inhabitants would not be fully satisfied. Hence, industry-sourced expenditures on the invention of innovative medicines and treatments would help ease financial burden, spurring the country’s sustainable development. What is more, when acting as financiers to studies on healthcare, people could find their lives meaningful and purposeful. To be more specific, they would feel self-worth once their contribution is acknowledged.

In sum, for the above-mentioned reasons, I would contend that the collaboration between government and non-government sources of funding might bring promising outcomes for the medical researches. This would therefore lead to a more fulfilling of the citizens.