Some people think that dangerous sports such as boxing or motor-racing should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a widespread perception that extreme sports such as boxing or motor-racing should be prohibited. Personally, I wholeheartedly disagree with this position.

To begin with, it is human’s freedom to choose what they want to do in their spare time. Some are in favor of adventurous feeling, so it would go against their will if a ban is imposed on risky sports. In other words, the aspiration to expose to new experience and push the physical and mental health to limits is justifiable as this could bring thrill seekers a sense of accomplishment. For this reason, there should be no regulation towards personal leisure pursuit. It should also be noted that the authorities can hardly take control over all of the individual activities and the places they are choosing for risk-taking. In fact, numerous action sports are performed in remote areas, which proves to be out of government’ management.

Opponents of dangerous sports argue that those partaking in these sports may be faced with accidents, serious injuries and even death. This is thus not sensible to put their life in unnecessary danger. However, they ignore the fact that extreme sports participants need to undergo days or months of training to increase their stamina before embarking on a risky sport. They are also supposed to be familiar with safety rules and procedures to avoid undesired repercussions. What is more, with the advancement of technology and the enhancement of equipment, embracing an adventure sport would no longer be an unreachable feat for those who long to conquer their fear and live their life to the fullest. There is no denying that any sports would be associated with certain elements of risk, having potential to inhibit ordinary people from getting out of their comfort zone. Still, with proper training and precautions, the possible hazards would be substantially mitigated.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that extreme sports should not be made illegal. The overcoming of speed, height and depth would offer participants an unprecedented experience, thereby making their lives more fulfilling.