Sport is big business and high earning cost for professional sport people. A lot of companies involved both financially and in other ways. Is negative or positive for development sport?

It is true that sport is a lucrative industry, and sport players have a significantly desirable income. This could be attributed to the fact that numerous firms get involved, providing professional sport people not only monetary support but also other forms of sponsorship. From my perspective, this would bring about both benefits and detriments.

The reason why investing in sports is not supported by many people is that it is considered merely a leisure pursuit and has inconsiderable impact on the progression of a nation. Meanwhile, other key sectors such as education or medicine should receive greater financial assistance. There is no denying that those working in these professions might either educate people to become more productive members of the society or save lives. It is thus unfair to hugely finance sports rather than the aforementioned areas.

Sports and professional sport people, however, deserve to be funded for a multitude of reasons. First and foremost, those who long to be trained sportsmen need to possess a high level of perseverance, diligence and commitment. This means that they have to undergo vigorous training and adhere to strict diet to be successful in their career path. Also, with short professional life and the risk of injuries, the patronage they receive from corporations is justifiable. Another justification is that sport is a means of connecting people, especially when a match between the host country’s team and a foreign one is held. Thanks to the competition, hospitality and tourism industry will be developed, generating employment for thousands of people. One more merit of sports sponsorship is that the bonding between nations is substantially strengthened as they are both economically and politically motivated.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, it is obvious that the advantages of making investment in sports and professional sportsmen overshadow its disadvantages. I would therefore contend that this is a positive development.