Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There are those who maintain that it is unjustified to invest in technology for space exploration as that money should be spent in more beneficial ways. From my perspective, allocating money to other sectors is important, but expenditure on space should not be neglected.

To begin with, it is justifiable that money needs to be channeled into different aspects to enhance people’s living standards. For example, education and medicine are the two top priorities for most of the governments all over the globe. The reason is that a healthy, educated population can perform significantly well in their study or work, which in turn spurs economic growth. It should also be noted that an informed individual, with a stable job and regular income, is less likely to engage in criminal acts. Accordingly, the investment in these two sectors is smarter in the long run. What is more, if money is spent on other areas such as transportation, social security or welfare, the citizens’ quality of lives would be substantially improved, resulting in higher trust in the authorities.

The spending on technology to facilitate space exploration should however be given equal importance. There is no denying that the natural resources on Earth are increasingly depleted, together with population explosion. This means that our planet could no longer be sustained, thereby failing to accommodate the future generations. For this reason, space researches play a pivotal role in providing the descendants a potential backup. In other words, terrestrial beings might be able to reside in other planets such as Mars due to the proven close resemblance to the Earth. Another justification is that space exploration is a huge project, requiring the contributions of thousands of people. The allocation of budget to such research can not only generate employment but can also inspire participants to make new inventions for dealing with existing global problems.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, equal emphasis should be placed on both space projects and other sectors. This could therefore warrant a more fulfilling life for the Earthlings.