Some people focus on news in their country, while others think it is more important to be aware of international news. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, there are those who pay great attention to localized issues and events whilst other people argue that getting world news is more significant. From my perspective, both viewpoints deserve thorough scrutiny.

The reason why coverage of domestic news matters is understandable. It is true that people should be aware of the happenings around them so that they could be more well-prepared to deal with the upcoming events. If fact, local and national news often provide its audience with a hoard of knowledge and information regarding regional economy, traffic, weather patterns and different aspects of life. People would in turn know what to do and not to do to avoid unexpected troubles. For instance, the reports on road works or traffic accidents would prove to be useful for the locals as they can choose another route to their destination. This could save them a great deal of time, thereby making their daily lives less stressful.

The role of international coverage, however, should not be neglected. In the globalized era, having access to foreign news is crucial since it can help people broaden their mind and perspective, turning them into more informed individuals. In other words, their knowledge about globally economic, cultural, political and social values of countries overseas might be substantially enriched. This means that taking into account the status quo and existing issues of different parts of the world may enable people to evade conflicts and cultural shock if they migrate to these areas. What is more, through international news coverage about moguls or developed countries, people can follow similar path to success and avoid a dead-end. For instance, during the outbreak of coronavirus pandemic, government officials could learn about the ways other nations did to halt the infection of virus. There is no denying that a smart and sustained approach could prevent financial and human loss for their realms.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that domestic and global news are important in equal measures. Embracing both types of coverage would therefore help people perfect their understanding of the surroundings.