Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that travelling to the space has been made possible, and there is a widespread belief that humans could be offered opportunities to experience space tourism in the future. From my perspectives, this development has both benefits and drawbacks.

There are some negatives of making a journey to the realms beyond the Earth’s atmosphere. One of the obvious challenges is the health risks facing participants when staying in weightless conditions for a long time. For example, zero gravity would cause motion sickness or even weaken their bones and disrupt their physical functioning. Another downside of entering the outer space is its exorbitant cost, which proves to be out of reach for low- and middle-income communities. The truth is that those who long to join the space voyage have to pay a huge sum of money for spacesuits and other accompanying services. This means that space tourism is readily available and affordable for privileged individuals only.

The upsides of space tourist trips into outer space, however, are indisputable. One benefit is the unprecedented experience that paying spaceflight participants could have when flying to the space. It is the long-standing aspiration of humans to observe the Earth from above, explore a new living space and find a new extraterrestrial life. Accordingly, the availability of space tourism will possibly satisfy their desire. This would in turn inspire scientists to make considerable progress in space science, spurring investments of not only federal agencies but also non-governmental bodies because of its potential returns. To be more precise, the research and development of cosmology could bring about promising outcomes since natural resources on Earth are becoming increasingly depleted, making this planet no longer a desirable place of residence. For this reason, investing in space tourism industry could open up opportunities for the Earthlings to discover other backups for the future generations.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, it is evident that the demerits of travelling to outer space are overshadowed by its merits. I would therefore contend that this is a positive development.