Some people think that the best way to be successful in life is to get university education. Others disagree and say that nowadays this is no longer true. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Opinions are divided as to whether or not having a Bachelor’s degree is indispensable in the success of a person. Whilst there are those who maintain that pursuing tertiary education is no longer important, I believe that it is the best route to accomplishment in life.

The main reason why some contend that a university degree exerts no impact on an individual’s achievement is its impracticality. To be more specific, what is taught at academic institutions is often book-based, with too much emphasis being placed on theory rather than practical knowledge and experience. It would therefore take a considerable amount of time and effort for them to adapt and accumulate hands-on experience. For instance, students who enrol on engineering and computing courses might be in the state of confusion when embarking on solving real-life problems, namely figuring out malfunctions and fixing mechanical problems. It means that in order to become a successful engineer or computer programmer, these demographics need to spend time learning almost everything from scratch, which proves to be daunting. Meanwhile, the non-graduates with first-hand experience of mechanical components, functions and reparations could become more skilled and find it easier to climb up the career ladder.

In spite of the above-mentioned arguments, I fully support the view that only with a Bachelor’s degree could a person succeed in their life. In fact, a degree is a prerequisite for certain professions such as medicine or law. There is no denying that people who long to work as a physician or lawyer will not be allowed to practice if they do not possess at least a university degree or equivalent. This could be attributed to the fact that post-secondary education is specifically designed to provide learners with fundamental knowledge regarding their future careers, thereby offering them a sound foundation for their career progression. For example, medical students have an opportunity to learn about anatomy of either humans or animals, and how the organs are interconnected. The knowledge is of inestimable value when they come into practice, allowing diagnosing and dissecting performed at much greater precision.

In sum, while it is sensible to advocate a non-university route, my own view is third-level education is the optimal way to succeed in life.