Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely perceived that there should be an equal gender ratio in third-level education institutions. Personally, I wholeheartedly disagree with this position.

To begin with, it seems to be infeasible for universities to enroll the same number of male and female students in every area of study. The truth is that they have to depend on the proportion of prospective students to each major, and the figure for male applicants always differs that for their female counterparts. This can be attributed to the predilection for subject and future profession among two genders. For example, women tend to prefer clerical to managerial work; besides, with lower physical strength and resilience, they are reluctant to embark on blue collar environment. Meanwhile, men usually find themselves better suit jobs that require high capacity of working under pressure or are physically demanding, such as engineer or architect. The personal preferences would therefore make it almost unrealistic for university executives to balance the number of male and female students.

Advocates of gender balance in tertiary education may argue that it is necessary for gender parity and women’s empowerment. They might claim that women nowadays can even outperform men in both male-dominated courses and working environments. However, they ignore the fact that in order to achieve such success, women need to possess great perseverance, diligence and sacrifice their time or relationship. In fact, women in most of cultures all over the globe take more family responsibilities than their spouses, so they have an intention of choosing jobs that can offer them more time for performing caregiving tasks. There is also a traditional belief that man makes house, woman makes home. For this reason, a nine-to-five job can not only warrant gender equity but can also give female workers more time to take care of their family. This long-standing perception is thus a determiner for difference in subject options by two sexes when they enter post-secondary education.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that the idea of enrolling equal number of male and female students in every university course is not practical.