Some people think that the best way to be successful in life is to get a university education. Others disagree and say that nowadays, this is no longer true. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

In spite of the fact that the world is undergoing various changes in recent years, what are the key factors to achieving success still remains one of the most heatedly discussed issues. There are some people who argue that attending college is the best way to succeed, while others hold the opposite opinion. Personally, I prefer the latter.

The first reason why I cannot regard this as the best method lies in the fact that acquiring college qualifications alone can no longer be a superiority when facing the fierce competition today. In other words, with the approach of the knowledge society, some regions in the world have gradually achieved the popularization of higher education, and even in some developed countries, the number of graduate and doctoral students is also soaring, so only having received undergraduate education is no longer preferred by the company in the workplace. Besides, with social advances, the factors that promote success, such as better social relationships, family background, and personal appearance, have become more diversified, by which I mean without any conditions mentioned above, the probability of success is extremely slight even if one has graduated from the college.

In addition, there do exist better factors to achieve success. More specifically, the elements of a person's success can be divided into congenital conditions and acquired efforts. If a person is born with advantages in appearance, intelligence and wealth, making good use of these innate advantages can facilitate them to achieve success at a very young age, just like many young stars in China at present. However, for most ordinary people who do not obtain these inherited advantages, hard-working persistence, and determination are very important qualities. In other words, due to poverty or other reasons, even if someone gives up university education, and choose to be engaged in vocational work, as long as they persist in honing their own skills and insisting on innovation, they can also achieve achievements in their own fields.

Admittedly, although the definition of success is quite different for each individual, the fundamentals for achieving a goal will forever remain the same. As mentioned above, university education has been popularized in many countries, that is to say, this has become one of the most basic conditions in the current competition. However, if one wants to have an advantage over others in knowledge, people should not only meet the requirements of undergraduate education but also adhere to lifelong learning.

In conclusion, it seems to me that attending college is not the best way to achieve success mainly because there are other elements and methods to succeed.