Many people believe that teachers should take the responsibility for the students to judge what is right and wrong and behave well; others feel that teachers should only teach academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although school is considered as space for obtaining knowledge, teacher has always been attached to extra significance beyond a job of knowledge delivery. There’s long lasting debate against teachers should provide guidance for both academic and moral education or only focus on subjects learning is enough. For my perspective, keeping excellent quality of academic education is just an essential requirement, teacher should participate in moral education as well.

On one hand, nobody can deny that teachers should take academic performance as the top priority. After all, the first function of school education is to impart knowledge and grantee the quality of teaching. Tutors should be well-prepared and put numerous of efforts to keep their concentration and expertise on specialized fields.

On the other hand, although parents should be the first to take responsible for their kid’s behaviour, students, especially in early age, spend most of their time at school, during which they not only acquire knowledge, but also formed their characteristic, self-identification, and sense of value gradually. There’s a saying in China “Guide by your word, teach by your action.” Therefore, teachers also play an irreplaceable role on shaping student’s principles. Students should be led to know universal moral ideas, how to get along with other individuals, fundamental discipline of teamwork and so on. In the meanwhile, tutors must draw a clear distinction between moral education and private opinion. As an educator, it’s unprofessional to take the job as a weapon to spread personal value judgemental views.

In conclusion, teachers should never be isolated from student’s moral education, but there remains a boundary cannot be crossed.