Some people think that governments should only focus their spending on public services, and they

claims that spending on arts is a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a never-ending debate on how the government should allocate public purse. Nobody will resist the argument that public funds must be contributed to improve public services, while some taxpayers regard the expense of other areas, like art, as a waste. From my perspective, the proportion of the public budget should be decided by the current economic trends.

Undoubtedly, investment against culture industry could drain resources from other fields related to residents' well-being, especially under a depressed economic situation. The general public tend to spend most of the social resources on fields that can meet the essential demand of personal livelihood, to exemplify, education and medical care. In the meanwhile, the features of cultural investment determined the benefit can only be witnessed in a long term, which made it look like a parasite of public finance by taxpayers. Therefore, it is reasonable for the public to attribute financial hardship to cultural investment.

However, there could be quite another scene during the boom period. Along with the positive expectation of economic trends, people's demand for aesthetics and culture industries would steeply increase under the circumstance that mundane life has no longer been a burden. Consumers not only have the ability, but also the motivation to afford extra cost on spiritual enjoyment. Cultural investment from the authorities could be well accepted by the majority of people. Furthermore, activities supported by government finance could send out an optimistic hint to related business market, creating numerous demands on relevant industries, such as exhibition and tourism, which can promote social employment, and feed back to public finance further.

In conclusion, cultural investment can either be the source of public dissatisfaction through the hard times or the icing on the cake during the period of wealth.