some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty others think that crime is a result of bad person s nature Discuss both view and give your opinion

Whilst some individuals suggest that criminal activities are a result of internal characteristics in each person, I, on the contrary, strongly bolster the argument stating that it is the social issues and poverty that is the predominant cause of crime.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that a person’s negative nature can contribute to criminal activities. A person’s primitive personality comes into notice during the early age of adolescence. If a child shows a petulant and arrogant attitude to their friends, the more likely that they will find themselves engaging in more fights than their timid and well-mannered counterparts. For instance, in accordance with a Daily Mail article, a child who commits bullying his or her classmates has a 50% more tendency to commit a crime in their life compared to a normal juvenile.

On the other hand, social issues and poverty are the catalyst to the reason why crime can occur in our society. Firstly, criminal activities can proliferate from problems such as unemployment. As people are left without occupations or commitments, they have to find a source of income to make ends meet. Consequently, cities that contain a high unemployment rate will be rife with criminal activities when people opt for crime to meet their basic needs. This explains why slums such as Rio de Janeiro or New Delhi experienced a ubiquity of crimes that precluded them from living a normal life. Secondly, impoverished people might run the risk of becoming a villain so that they can provide for their families during the arduous time.

To encapsulate, while a person’s motives may come from their innate personalities, I believe that it only takes up the meager as the temptation in the community is the main reason that impedes us from having a paragon of society.