Some people believe that culture would be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only hope to protect a culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is little room for doubt that tourism is one of the fastest-growing industries in the world. However, its impact on the local culture still remains a subject of intense debate. In this essay, I will elaborate the benefits and drawbacks of tourism but personally, I firmly believe that if the government of a country can promote their cultural heritages simultaneously with tourism commercials, they can protect the long-standing traditional values of their country.

Providing economic incentives for cultural preservation is undeniably one of the primary contributions of tourism. To many foreign tourists, history and culture are what they first consider when choosing a destination. Recognizing this mindset, many tourism sites have enthusiastically promote their cultural heritages to the world to attract more attention. Additionally, the money earned from tourism will subsequently direct towards the maintenance projects for the local culture. Hence, tourism is one of the main forces contributing not only to the economic development but also the cultural conservation of a country.

Furthermore, tourism is the only way that makes an indigenous culture can be known around the world. Thanks to the technical advance, tourists can share their experience in the local culture via social media, such as Facebook, Twitter or Youtube, or they can share that unforgettable memory with their families and friends once they come home. Therefore, the indigenous culture is made accessible to the public without the support from the government, assisting this site to gain international fame. Both financial and technological support will flood in for the preservation of the unique nature and culture.

On the negative side, tourism can partly contribute to the loss of a country’s culture, especially the minority cultures. Foods, festivals, costumes and other stimulating elements are highlighted to entertain tourists, putting an insult to the inhabitants and may damage the unique nature there. Moreover, the cultural commercialization may insult the sacred elements of a reputable culture and tourists therefore are ill-informed to respect a long-standing culture, which cannot be found anywhere.

In the light of these facts, tourism constitutes a part in the preservation of a country for its unique culture and the government should also consider launching such maintenance campaigns to conserve a respectable tradition. But tourism unarguably is responsible for partly putting a cultural integrity at risk.