Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

The improving quality of education has entailed a rise in the demand for free access to tertiary study. Yet, it is deemed the government obligation to sponsor this program for learners, regardless of their socioeconomic status. Objectively, I firmly concur with this notion on the grounds that this action promotes social equality and thus, lessens the financial burden for families.

For one thing, the principally targeted beneficiaries of this policy must be the disadvantaged, whose exposure to education is limited due to financial predicaments. By virtue of this, once the opportunity to progress further on their studies is offered, it would be a substantial support from the authorities to this group. In other words, the concept of equality is vicariously refined through this action as students similarly receive the formal teaching program from the university. Admittedly, financial discrimination is indeed a contentious issue that requires additional attention to be resolved, countries who take this step are irrefutably active in addressing this drawback within a firm.

For another, in the context of family, financial aid from the official administration allows those with poor financial background to bear a reduced tuition fee, which has readily been a stressful issue since the living costs surged. The stark reality is that many families are initially incapable of affording their basic requirements owing to their low income, not to mention the expenditure for their progeny’s studies. As a result, open policy in education acts as a savior for these students’ ambitions as well as reducing the pressure for parents in terms of their financial capability.

To conclude, the suggestion that free tertiary education should be implemented by governments is undoubtedly ethical. From an objective angle, I agree with this view for the aforementioned reasons.