Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasingly popularised opinion that university education should be available to the public and students should receive free college courses, regardless of their financial condition. While this idea can be beneficial to a certain degree, I disagree with it for the following reasons.

Initially, proponents of free university courses may argue that underprivileged students can have the same opportunity to receive an extensive education as their friends. There are over 7,000 young people, according to a recent report, who attend vocational courses rather than university since their parents cannot afford their tuition fees. Hence, from this perspective, the rate at which students register to universities will increase as fees are no longer a problem for them. Additionally, the lectures in tertiary education are obviously too obscure for students to understand comprehensively. Therefore, a more effective acquisition of knowledge can be ensured if they study the course beforehand.

However, considering the effectiveness in which students learn new knowledge at school, uncontrolled access to university courses could act as a hindrance. If a person with low critical thinking skills gets exposed to advanced knowledge that is inappropriate for their educational background, he is likely to complicate the exercise of the lessons he learns at school, worsening his academic performance. Another point worth considering is that students will not appreciate the intrinsic value of education. If people do not have to pay for something, they will take it for granted and find it worthless. A salient example can be seen in an experiment conducted by a famous YouTuber. He announced that he would give everyone a free trip to Paris in a luxurious hotel. Immediately, hundreds of people contacted him but soon postponed the trip. Similarly, students may not pay attention to academic results and study because it will cost them nothing to retake the subject.

In conclusion, while free college courses can exert several advantages, I am more inclined to the view that university education should not be publicized and obtained without any payment. It is recommended that the government cover part of the tuition fees for disadvantaged students’ education to give them a chance to advance their knowledge.