some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether the government's abolishment of tuition fee regardless of students' socio-economic background is necessary. I totally disagree with this opinion as both students and society might be adversely affected.

It's not rare for people to argue that college tuition waivers are an appropriate policy. They support their point by stating that financially disadvantaged students will stand a better chance to get a job. However, when the number of university degree increases, the job market will become even more competitive. Unfortunately, the soaring of youth unemployment, which is always hard to tackle, will therefore become inevitable.

Furthermore, the provision of free-of-charge education will somehow have an adverse bearing on higher education pursuers. If the monetary burden is removed, the undergraduates may have an incline to take their study for granted. Tuition fee has long acted like a mean to encourage the determination on getting a good grade. Once that pressure disappears, students' willingness to achieve a better academic performance may fade correspondingly.

In conclusion, if the free-college policy is actually implemented, I believe that it will bring about many problems.