Some people believe that the government should make university education free for all. Others disagree and say that students should pay for their own education.

People have differing views about tertiary education whether if it should be offered free or students need to spend their own money to have a third level education. While a free education in university gives equal opportunity to learners, I believe that students should pay their own education for them to study harder.

On the one hand, governments should provide students to have a free tertiary education because it ensures that all learners are able to enter universities. This is to say that since earning a degree is quite expensive and some students come from families with limited financial resources, this gives them a chance as those who belong to wealthy groups to have a university education. For example, in Finland, their state allocated a huge amount of money for sending students in all walks of life to universities because they believe that education is an equal right that individual must enjoy. However, some students tend to become irresponsible in their studies because they do not mind or worry about the expenses paid by the government.

On the other hand, some people argue that if education in universities is gained when students pay their own tuition fees and miscellaneous they will study seriously. When learners use their own money they will be responsible enough to attend their lessons and do the necessary requirements in order to earn a degree. They will give importance on their studies because they know how expensive to enter a university. For instance, in the UK, university students are paying their own school fees by getting a student loan which they will pay when they finish their degrees. I believe that this is the main reason why it is better that tertiary education should be paid by students.

In conclusion, while some people taught that third level education should be free to give equal opportunities to all, it seems to me that paying your own education will make learners be responsible to finish their courses.