Some people say that television is useful for education while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People have differing views about the purpose of television whether it is for education or was designed only for entertainment. While televisions can educate people through educational programs, I believe that they are mainly used to entertain.

On the one hand, people can learn by watching different TV channels with educational content. This is to say that TV is an effective medium of learning because people can gain information and enhanced their knowledge. They become aware of the things that are happening around them. For example, the National Geographic Discovery channel features about global warming, which is a huge threat to our planet. Those who spend time seating in front of their screens will be educated more thus will tend to take initiatives to help address this matter. However, some people, especially in third world countries, do not have access to televisions as well as educational TV programs but they still learn through other methods.

On the other hand, people tend to use TVs as a way to spend their free time. Watching movies or TV series is the most common reason why individuals turn on their televisions especially if they are off from work or school/ By doing this, they can relax and enjoy which are the main benefits why people buy and use televisions. For instance, a survey conducted by the Department of Health in the Philippines revealed that 70% of Filipino households have two or more televisions because each family members have a different preference for movies and variety shows as a way to wind down from a tiring and stressful day. Therefore, I agree with the idea that televisions are intended to entertain people.

In conclusion, I understand why people believe that TVs are helpful to educate people but it seems to me that entertainment is the major reason for using a TV.