Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While a number of people believe that the authorities should invest money to build train and subway systems to tackle the overcrowding, the others argue that the greater solution to reduce the heavy traffic is construct and expand more roads. This essay will examine both views and give my opinion.

To begin, public transport such as train and subway lines is the effective and efficient methods to solve traffic congestion. First, when the resident use public transport, the amount of cars on the roads certainly decrease and reduce traffic congestion. Even just half of people who using car on a daily basis change to using train or subway, the traffic congestion is not a huge issue anymore. The next positive of this solution is passengers might have several options instead of solely using cars or bikes.

For a environmental perspective, emissions from cars lead to global warming, which may have a devastating effect on the planet. Therefore, investing money on public transport is the way to protect the environment and our future.

On the other hand, it is also true that constructing more and wider roads is positive to decrease overcrowding. In fact, apparently massive highways could consist more vehicles than narrow ways. For example, when a road is expanded more lines, the vehicles will have more space especially on rush hours and thereby no longer choke on roads. The other advantage of this method is there are a number of ways to enter the cities when more roads is constructed. This lead to reduce pressure on the main roads.

In conclusion, although build more and expand roads might bring several positive to solve traffic congestion, it seems to me that the expenditure on building train and subway system is the better and sustainable methods.