In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move out of the cities and into regional areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the national leaders in some parts of the world encourage entrepreneurs to transfer their companies out of urban areas. Despite some obvious drawback of this trend, I would argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, moving the industries and companies out of the cities have a detrimental effect on the national economy. Clearly, the governments have to allocate the resources of the national budget to support the companies, which would transfer their businesses out of the urban areas — for instance, improving the local infrastructure such as traffic system, education system, and other necessary utilities. It might inevitably lead to a burden on the treasury of countries. Besides, companies might be facing several challenging to transfer their businesses, which means not only reconstructing the industries areas, head office, and facilities but also hiring the new employees. It costs too much money for them.

On the other hand, there are undoubtedly several benefits that governments should consider. The first reason for this view is that help to curb the metropolis traffic congestion. When the companies moving out of the cities, the number of vehicles enter the city centers would certainly reduce and as a result, the traffic problems are tackled. The other benefit is that improving the environment of modern cities such as air, water, and land. For instance, the atmosphere is fresher because the industries no longer discharging the emission into the air. Finally, the companies would bring more jobs for people and the massive boost for the local workforce.

In conclusion, although there are several costs for the business moving from the urban areas to regional areas. It seems to me that the advantages of this tendency are more significant than the disadvantages.