Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The method to address traffic jams is a contentious topic for every citizen. While some think that money should be invested in developing train and subway lines, others believe the better solution is building more and wider roads. Both sides of the argument will be analyzed, and then I will elaborate on my own opinion.

Many reasons can explain why some support the money allocation for establishing train and subway systems. Firstly, it will decrease the number of private vehicles which leads to a decrease in traffic jams in rush hours. These means of transport are convenient, safe, and less time-consuming because they have their own infrastructure construction. The second reason which should be highlighted is that this solution can help reduce air pollution, which is a severe problem facing human beings and resulting in global warming. Furthermore, people can save natural resources like oil or gas if they reduced the number of cars used.

On the other hand, road expansion is understandably beneficial. First, if roads are widened, they can be divided into more lanes for different means of transport. Moreover, it will be safer for motorcyclists, cyclists, and pedestrians to have their own lanes separated from big vehicles. Second, it is more accessible for drivers to drive with big transportations like buses, containers. This is also a reason for traffic congestion because in some areas with small roads, big containers or buses account for more than half of the area, and it takes much time to move in case there are two cars against each other.

In conclusion, both views have their own merits. After analyzing these sides, my personal view is that the construction of trains and subway lines will be more effective in solving traffic congestion problems. This is because it will contribute to reducing traffic volume on the roads and preventing accidents.