Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Since traffic congestion becomes worse and worse in many parts of the world, opinions are divided as to whether the state budget should be spent on expanding train and subway lines or constructing more roads. I, however, side with those who go for advancing public transportation.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that building new and bigger roads will alleviate the traffic situation. It is argued that the more available highways, the more space for vehicles to flow smoothly. Taking the rise of personnel demands for commuting into consideration, the current road system appears conspicuously inadequate to cope with the upsurging number of vehicles, especially in urban areas. Besides, municipalities are gradually expanding and people have to commute further to arrive at the workplace, exacerbating gridlocks within rush hours. Highways and overpasses connecting or bridging important transportation locations, therefore, are believed to create more spaces and sufficient ways for vehicle owners to circulate easily.

On the other hand, it is my firm conviction that advancing public transport such as buses and subways is a more sufficient solution for this issue. Despite the fact that more and more roads are constructed, with the relentless influx of people and vehicles in city centres, logjams can never be solved. By investing in train and subway lines, governments encourage residents to use public means of transportation instead of private automobiles, which greatly contributes to relieving pressure on the existing roads. For example, in European countries where bus lines and other mass transits are up to standard, the number of private vehicles participating in traffic is small, and city inhabitants can save hours of delay. Furthermore, as space constraint emerges as a serious problem in almost all urban areas, limiting ground surfaces for new roads and subways, deploying underground areas for metro lines appears more optimal to address the situation.

In conclusion, I believe that governments should allocate the state budget to rail and metro lines rather than to widening roads in order to mitigate traffic congestion.