In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and this may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the advantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In a number of countries around the world, small shops in town cannot compete with wholesale stores based on the outskirts and are threatened with bankruptcy. This leads to a number of consequences, including a rise in car usage in these countries and access to large out-of-town stores becoming limited for those without cars. While there are positives to this change, I believe the negatives are more significant.

On the one hand, the tendency towards shopping outside urban areas may have some benefits. Taking the fact that not all towners possess a car into account, driving to a distant place for shopping is inefficient thus they are likely to do online shopping on hi-tech appliances, which is contributed to the proliferation of e-commerce and delivery services. For example, enabling customers to approach more options of goods of any kind, e-commerce platforms such as Shopee and Lazada have seen a substantial surge in the number of users as well as their use frequencies. Additionally, with personnel demand for car manufacturing and upkeep accelerating, more and more job vacancies in the field and its related including mechanics, drivers, engineers, etc. are offered to dwellers of the town.

On the other hand, though several vacancies stemming from the trend of shopping in the outskirts are available, these occur in a very limited field. Meanwhile, most inhabitants who are in-town customers would incur higher shipping expenses. Moreover, in the worst scenario, their safety is also at risk when the delivery of necessities such as pharmaceutical products is delayed in emergency circumstances. Another existential threat to dwellers when retailers are off-centre is the degraded air quality. Due to the upsurge of cars and means of delivery, airborne pollutants, emitted from vehicles’ engines, would overwhelmingly rise, heightening pollution levels in those places and exacerbating respiratory diseases such as lung cancer, pulmonary fibrosis, and so on.

In conclusion, though the propensity towards shopping in large stores located away from city centres would offer some gains, its potential repercussions are more consequential.