The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to improve road safety is a hotly debated topic that often divides opinions. Imposing severe punishments on those who commit driving offences, to me, can somehow help increase road safety, yet there are more efficient measures that need to be taken into account.

On the one hand, it is worth noticing that around 80% of accidents are caused by driver errors thus firm penalties imposed on drivers can deter them from committing more driving offences. For example, in Vietnam, the number of car crashes due to drunk drivers has been reduced significantly since the ratification of laws against alcoholic driving. Besides, regulations abolishing the use of mobile phones, which causes various distractions, while controlling a vehicle has contributed to diminishing driving casualties. In addition, penalties for dangerous drivers are believed to possibly prevent them relapsing into the same offence.

On the other hand, I take the view that there are several methods that can equally improve road security. Firstly, CCTV cameras should be installed across the motorways in order to put the misbehaviours of drivers under surveillance and carry out discipline instantaneously when there is any sign of infringement. Secondly, education is always the main contributing factor to solving problems stemming from consciousness thus educative campaigns for raising the awareness of people about the need to follow transporting rules, as well as the importance of road safety, should be launched. Finally, it is also reckoned that accident number is directly influenced by the condition of transportation infrastructures such as motorways and highways so great importance from the governments should be attached to facilities to maintain road safety.

In conclusion, while adopting harsher sanctions could alleviate the situation of car crashes deaths and rates, there are other methods that should be implemented along with it to thoroughly tackle the road safety issue.