Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Amid the proliferation of science and technology, whether traditional libraries should be maintained is a hotly-debated topic that often divides opinion. My conviction is that together with highly reliable knowledge included, public libraries have important functions that artificial intelligence cannot perform so retaining them can neither become redundant nor money-wasting.

It is worth noticing that physical libraries are a form of encouragement of reading culture provided by either governments or the whole society to people, especially to the young. Myriad research from reliable resources around the world has proved the outstanding benefits of reading books compared to sitting on screens for hours; therefore, every year, many financial sources are subsidised to physical libraries, especially in educative institutes. Besides, senior residents who are not familiar with hi-tech tools and appliances cannot easily immerse themselves in online reading. Taking senior citizens in Vietnam as an example, they are found being confronted with obstacles when adapting to modern technologies including reading facilities such as smartphones, tablets, etc. thus being engrossed in virtual books appears a daunting task.

Another reason for supporting traditional libraries is their provision of a peaceful and relaxed ambience, given the relentless repercussions of intensifying noise pollution in urban areas. Not only does enjoying this atmosphere facilitate comers to stay focused but it also triggers their effort and motivation for studying while observing others engrossed in expanding their knowledge through books. In addition, whereas papers works presented in public libraries are strictly censored, the reliability of online sources of information is of great concern. Currently, much virtual content people are exposed to has not gone through any trustworthy examination, which is attributed to the increase of deviance and misinterpretation of many basic moral principles. Coupled with various distractions such as commercial ads and entertaining flyers attached to almost every website, the suspicious information available highly has the gullible public strayed off course.

In conclusion, since numerous viable advantages are provided, traditional libraries should continuously be subsidised and preserved, regardless of the advancement of virtual tools for online reading.