Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is transparently true that international tourism has become the main contributing factor to the world’s economy. Whereas there are several worries concerning tensions that are potentially triggered, my conviction is that this industry is indispensable to both economic development and cultural dissemination among nations.

On the one hand, the reason why the proliferation of tourism would not bring conflict is rooted in the economic motivation for both locals and visitors. By purchasing products quintessential to a region such as traditional amusements, local specialities, souvenirs, and other bric-a-brac designated for ex-pats, not only do foreign tourists enormously contribute to the regional revenue but also spread the culture and tradition of the country to their homeland. In turn, the indigenous should express their hospitality towards the newcomers in exchange for their trust and financial contribution. As a result, not only does such reciprocal relation generate sustainable incomes for locals but it also exposes visitors to an extended horizon. For instance, Thailand is prevalent for its hospitality industry which offers the most memorable and qualified experience in diverse entertainments and foreigner-friendliness and gives a substantial rise to the domestic economy.

On the other hand, there might be the repulse of visitors against the local conventions at the initial stage when they first arrive, which is attributed to the discrepancies in religious belief, social background and cultural values. However, most offences are accidental rather than intentional and can be settled instantaneously when foreign visitors acknowledge the local customs. Taking the Arabians as an example, they used to consider westerners as their foes and this seemed to prolong intermittently. And yet, as time flew, they formed concrete relations with their western allies in distinguished fields.

In conclusion, from my point of view, international tourism does not prompt any hostilities in the long run but fosters both economic flourishing and the diversity of cultures.