In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, it is true that people possibly shop, work and communicate with each other using various virtual means. While there are clear positive aspects of this trend, my conviction is that the detrimental aspects would definitely outweigh them.

On the one hand, technology has conspicuously elevated our living standards from different perspectives. Firstly, thanks to the introduction of remote work and online shopping, people now no longer squander time stuck in traffic congestion, alleviating transportation situations as well as emissions released by vehicles. Secondly, distance learning facilitates students to obtain an international certificate at a more affordable cost since commuting and accommodation expenses are eliminated. Finally, shopping online enables customers to approach every product type at the click of a button. Taking the lockdown period during the covid-19 pandemic as an example, residents in urban settings which emerged as the epicentre of infection relied totally on digital appliances for vital merchandise ranging from food to pharmaceutical products.

On the other hand, the proliferation of technology in working, shopping and communicating also poses grave threats to both individuals and the entire society, which would even supersede the potential gains. Firstly, worries are mounting over cyber security, owing to myriad malicious attacks launched by rivals, hackers, and cybercriminals. For instance, in Vietnam, private information of people possessing a bank account is in stock and misused by various entities from real estate brokers to usury agents. Secondly, online shopping is also attributed to the increase in carbon footprint stemming from shipping and transit, coupled with unwanted aspects such as delay of good delivery, discrepancies between online descriptions and received products, etc. Finally, people are on the verge of being socially isolated due to the overuse of internet connection. As a conversation is possibly done without a face-to-face meeting, our need for visiting each other is dramatically reduced and in the long run, there is a growing propensity that many young people may lead their entire lonely life in small rooms but not a community.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the benefits provided by the possibility of conducting daily activities online, I believe that its unfavourable impacts would cause more harm to people’s life.