Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art and culture have implicitly become an essential part of every nation around the globe, causing some level of public controversy. Whereas some people cast doubt on tremendous efforts for their proliferation and maintenance, I accede to those who believe in the substantial values they bring to both the population and the national culture.

On the one hand, there are several dissenting opinions against subsidising artistic and cultural activities. It is argued that governments have placed too much value on the preservation of art and culture while more viable and pivotal features should attract more attention such as the healthcare system, transportation infrastructure, human welfare, etc. Frankly speaking, people spontaneously opt for ignoring certain values if being unable to make ends meet or suffer from degraded medical conditions. Besides, fewer and fewer people are willing to pay a visit to museums and art galleries where antique and national artworks are on display thus the purpose they serve cannot be achieved. In Vietnam, for instance, the number of both local and international visitors making an excursion to art and culture exhibitions has decelerated, leaving those places unexposed to the target audiences and squandering an endless budget on maintenance.

On the other hand, my conviction is that the importance of traditional conventions and art should not be neglected. Culture and art are conspicuously accompanied by education. By conveying historical messages as well as the idea of contemporaneous artists, cultural participation provides locals with the opportunity to learn more about their own traditional and historical heritage. For example, from Thanh Giong folk story, Vietnamese now all learn how their ancestors went through various challenges and even sacrificed themselves for the independence of the country, which would contribute greatly to nurturing patriotism. Furthermore, taking art and culture are not only a display into consideration, tourists and locals can indulge in other activities to explore and commemorate traditional values such as cultural festivals, regional specialities, folk games, etc. For instance, myriad tourists are attracted to come and discover Lunar New Year in certain Asian countries every year, from which they grasp a great chance to experience stunning performances, and fireworks, and enjoy festival staples. By bringing and spreading precious memories in their homeland, visitors are attributed to the dissemination of Asian culture and conventions.

In conclusion, though there is opposition to the support of culture and art, I take the view that it is indispensable for both individuals and society as a whole to preserve and develop them.