In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is true that amidst the proliferation of science and technology, people still put a great emphasis on the arts. There are, conspicuously, significant messages that cannot be covered by scientific hypotheses or technological appliances but are contained in artworks.

From a scientific perspective, theories and figures are always formulated and demonstrated with high accuracy, dealing with objective evidence and improvement. Conversely, arts are created based on subjectivity and improvisation, which satisfies the human demand and desire for a perfect world. For instance, while the dog is defined as a carnivorous mammal with four paws under physical eyesight, it would become a friend or a companion and even be visualised as a heroic statue in a literary masterpiece. Another outstanding reference for this is fairy tales which satisfy people’s innermost aspiration for a wonderland or eternal life. Speaking of which, arts also enable people to gain deeper insights into the world and teach them to think from different aspects when encountering problems.

From a technology perspective, in order to produce and supply efficient tools serving human life technical world attaches great importance to practical issues rather than abstract values. As a result, materialism and consumerism are enriched and spread, benefiting people’s physical lives and their advancement. Arts, however, putting a substantial emphasis on emotional features, are a source of inspiration and motivation for all activities. For instance, when feeling down or depressed, a number of people would immerse themselves in different forms of art ranging from healing songs to painting exhibitions as a way of rejuvenation and self-reflection. In other words, arts instil religious and spiritual values into each individual, helping us to be more well-rounded human beings.

In conclusion, arts convey various lessons and meanings that cannot be incorporated by any form of technology and science, in my opinion, regardless of how developed and enhanced scientific or technological inventions humans can achieve.