Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Government funding has always been a controversial topic for generations. Many people think that they should spend money on cultural activities, whereas others argue that it should be used to solve the country’s problems. I believe that the government should invest in citizens and infrastructure and I will explain my opinion below.

On the one hand, cultural activities play a vital role in people’s lives. Some traditional occasions such as Tet holiday or Christmas are good opportunities for people to gather with their families. For example, young people working abroad can enjoy and celebrate these holidays in other countries and also can come back to their countries and celebrate them with their families. It strengthens the sense of family and community. Besides, thanks to technology, the government can choose to widen their country’s culture to foreigners which can help them get a deeper understanding of their countries.

On the other hand, many people think that it is unnecessary to invest in cultural activities because there are some more serious issues to address. Using money for the construction of new roads is a better way, in the fact that, the deterioration of transport infrastructure in many cities has become the major reason for the increasing number of traffic accidents. In addition, national leaders should support scientists in developing sustainable sources of electronics that will be used in their countries in the future.

In conclusion, in my view, even though there are still many benefits to this idea, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. So, I still believe that the government should spend their funds on social problems rather than paying for cultural activities.