Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

In this day and age, more and more excursions to rural areas are designed for tourists, causing some level of public controversy. It is my firm conviction that this tendency exerts detrimental impacts on both the locals and the ecosystem.

With respect to the indigenous people, booming tourism would result in cultural erosion among the aboriginals. When entertaining tourists, in an attempt to earn a good living, the natives adapt to tourists’ needs, attitudes and values, and ultimately start following them; and, consequently, lose their own cultural inheritance gradually. For example, in China, instead of its traditional costumes, the youth who implicitly embrace Western fashion opt for a wedding dress or a suit on their marriage date. Furthermore, the arrival of foreign visitors usually accompanies by the import of exotic cultures, some of which are contradictory to traditional values and customs. Intimate gestures of couples in public places, for instance, which used to be frowned upon in Asian culture, have been considered normal and become prevalent on streets and even at schools, intensifying the degradation of regional customs.

In respect of environmental effects, the introduction of the tourism industry in remote regions poses a significant and tremendous threat to the wilderness there. With the demand for local specialities served in tourists’ meals or even illusionary-pharmaceutical supplements increasing, there would be an enormous acceleration of illegal hunting and logging. As a result, natural resources are depleted due to overexploitation. Taking the highlands of Vietnam such as Gia Lai and Lam Dong provinces as an example, the extinction of various species of snake is on the horizon which is attributed to hunting activities for food serving visitors who crave new dishes. In addition, the mass destruction of natural habitats like rainforests, waterfalls, etc. to make space for convenient facilities and infrastructures will be inevitable if more tourists come. Quintessentially, Brazil’s Amazon, also known as the lungs of the world, has fallen under extensively detrimental impacts of tourism development, including widespread pollution deriving from waste disposal of both visitors and services providers, and destruction of wildlife for souvenirs, and complex areas for accommodation and entertainment.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the expansion of tourism into remote areas would cause catastrophic impacts on not only the native people but also the regional ecosystem.