Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

In recent years, tourists have become more likely to take organized trips to see remote areas and communities. This essay will discuss the reasons why I believe this development could have an equal amount of positive and negative effects.

The growth of the tourism industry can be seen as beneficial for local people. Firstly, the main reason is that the more people visit these areas, the more opportunities to develop the business and generate economic value. For instance, more people are likely to find work in hotels, restaurants, and other tourist service providers in these tourist destinations. Furthermore, in order to attract more tourists who are interested in exploring the wild, the authorities of these areas must invest in preserving the environment and its rich biodiversity so that visitors can enjoy the experience.

Despite the favorable impacts mentioned above, I believe that tourism can also be considered as a detrimental development to some extent. The main drawback is that this can result in disturbing the lives of local people and the environment. In addition, visitors frequently trash wherever they go and may harm animals with their bad behavior. Another downside of this trend, in order to meet the demand of tourists, local people have cut down a large majority of old trees to build areas for entertainment. For instance, Vietnam is also known as a country with the most deforestation and the reason for this is poorly-planted infrastructure in remote places.

In conclusion, while organized tourism may help the economy and people in remote locations greatly, I believe that the negative environmental repercussions of this scenario are significantly more severe.