Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

Traveling to far-flung lands and immersing in the local culture or melting into the mountain landscape is a hot trend today. In my opinion, this evolution could have both advantageous and disadvantageous influences in the local and the environment. While organized tour to remote areas and community brings a huge quantity of benefits for the former such as creating a stable job, and enhancing the average income, the opposite of that have a profound effect on the latter.

To begin with, it has been widely demonstrated that tourism to isolated areas and communities will give rise to a positive impact on the locals such as providing a promising job market and increasing their revenue. In reality, appealing to the visitor play a crucial role in their own country in general and the local people in particular. As a result, thanks to the development of the tourism industry, local government can help people to escape the toughest situation such as starvation in isolated lands, which lead to the enhancement of incomes. A good example of this is Sapa, being one of the most difficult areas in Viet Nam. After ameliorating infrastructure such as the road network, creating many gorgeous sceneries and now is the best place to live. As a consequence, the locals are the tour guide, resulting in rising occupation opportunities, and improving revenue for indigenous people in Sapa.

On the other hand, it is obvious that, the waste has been released by visitors, triggering far-reaching consequences to the environment such as air pollution or infectious diseases. In the fact that some of the visitors could be not aware of the influences in the environment, the waste is dumped into the quarters. Without quick treatment, the air, water, and land, which were once pristine, will soon be polluted. This can be evidenced by Hong lake, an enormous quantity of waste in the side road after the celebration is organized.

In conclusion, while traveling to far-away areas have an advantageous effect on the local people such as providing stable employment, and enhancing income. The opposite has a dramatic impact on the environment such as waste. In my perspective, this development is of necessity and the local government must have a solution to radically tackle it.