Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The methods of mitigating traffic jams have been a heated topic of controversy. Some people argue that the construction of larger roads is the answer for the problem. However, I contend that the option to construct railways and subways is a far better measure.

There is a common fallacy that governments could reduce traffic congestion by building and improving more roads. Nevertheless, an increasing in the number of roads means that the citizens are encouraged to purchase more individuals vehicles and as a result, the road could soon be filled with intense traffic again. For instance, traffic jams returned to Shanghai’s main streets not long after they were expanded in 1990s. In brief, if this policy is implemented, traffic congestion would still persist in the long term.

Rail and subway systems, though, could ensure that traffic congestion is properly addressed. Unlike cars or buses, trains are capable of transporting hundreds of people and thus, it could help to reduce traffic flow during rush hours. Moreover, trains do not have to go through intersections and traffic lights and dedicated lines ensure that their travel is hardly interrupted so it is always on time regardless of the level of traffic. This convenience encouraged people choose it as primary method of transport and the number of individual vehicles would be decreased accordingly. Consequently, traffic congestion could be tackled successfully.

In conclusion, building more and larger roads are an unsustainable measure, while train and underground systems be a much more effective solution for the problem of traffic congestion.