Some people believe that having a conversation on a mobile phone in a public or crowded place should be banned. Others feel that we should be able to talk wherever we like. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many argue that phone calls should be restricted in public settings, some believe that people have their right to talk in any situation. It is agreed that while sometimes phone calls can be irritating, people have their own reasons for making phone calls. This essay will discuss both sides before coming to a conclusion.

It is true that calling someone via mobile phone can sometimes be an annoyance for people around. In public places where visitors need to be calm and quiet, a phone call may be a major interruption. For instance, chatting on a mobile phone in a public library will bother many who are trying to focus on reading and studying. Furthermore, many people make long phone calls on unimportant matters. In the lens of other people, these calls are merely a selfish act as it disturbs many people. Therefore, making phone calls in these areas is unacceptable.

However, not all phone calls are unimportant and people don’t have the choice of making or accepting calls in public areas. Everyone has their underlying reason to contact someone, it may be personal reasons, business, or emergency calls. These are reasons that the public couldn’t know and have to tolerate regardless of the place. When people receive a call from someone asking for emergency help, they have to accept it, despite being in public places. If they couldn’t make that calls, the consequences might be very serious. Hence, for this reason, banning calls in public places doesn’t make much sense.

In conclusion, the use of mobile phones to communicate in public areas may cause interruption for others, However, considering that there are important reasons to call, banning is not at all necessary.