Hosting important sports events has been a matter of contention. There appeared endless conflicting attitudes toward this: Some people hold firm to the belief that it would benefit the nation, whereas the rest are of the opposite opinion. Such notions are critically deliberated in this essay.

On the one hand, enhancing the community's image and economic growth are worth contemplating. It is widely acknowledged that global sports coverage by the media is an effective way to promote the reputation of the country on foreign TV channels and manifold platforms. For instance, the participant of U23 Vietnam in the final of 2018 Championship engaged a great deal of people over the world by their fair play, and this also made a beautiful impression on Vietnamese. More notably, large amounts of financial profit are gained during the time hosting a global sports event. As a case in point, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil was much better after hosting the 2016 Olympics with enough benefits for the construction of four new schools with modern equipment, an important network of transport with the revival of a historic area Porto Maravilha and tourism industry.

On the other hand, the overloaded population and outrageous expenditures are of paramount importance. It cannot be denied that although hosting sport events has some benefit for the tourism industry, densely populated is a serious situation that cannot be completely solved. To illustrate, hotels' rooms or homestays may not totally serve the tourists and visitors, affecting the local’s living standard through the sports season. More remarkably, organizing international events requires a gigantic investment to construct stadiums, sport facilities, and hiring workers to reach the criteria. As a result, the government may struggle with the deficit of public finance funds and maybe a huge debt also needs to be paid; and this is especially harsh with small and developing countries.

All in all, while I accept that organizing mega sport events has few benefits, I favour the fact that it is sometimes disadvantageous to the nation, especially in some developing countries. Government ought to thoroughly consider the aforementioned points to make the right decision: whether they should host the events or not.